It is currently Thu Jun 22, 2017 1:37 pm



Welcome
Welcome to rfobasic

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today. **You are not required to provide truthful information to any registration questions. Be whomever you wish to be.!


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How to detect if the user's device has a menu key?
Unread postPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 1:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 1:40 am
Posts: 68
Location: France
Could somebody give here the config of a without-menu-key device, to compare with mine?

My config (given by system.write "am get-config"): mcc208-mnc1-fr-rFR-sw320dp-w320dp-h544dp-normal-long-port-notnight-hdpi-finger-keysexposed-nokeys-navhidden-nonav-v22

_________________
Alain


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to detect if the user's device has a menu key?
Unread postPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 2:14 am
Posts: 1147
Location: From Blighty
I have 2 touch keys below the display, 'Back' and 'Menu'. One hard 'Home' button. [I guess we are moving away from hardware buttons, the new Samsung S8 is going that way.].

Here are my results anyway:-

mcc234-mnc20-en-rGB-ldltr-sw360dp-w360dp-h616dp-normal-long-notround-port-notnight-hdpi-finger-keysexposed-nokeys-navhidden-nonav-v23
abi: armeabi-v7a,armeabi

The only changeable option is turning on and off the light on these keys, and the duration. It makes no difference to the report above.

[Under 'Settings'  → 'Accessability' →  'Dexterity', I can add a floating widget that creates on-screen buttons. Again results exactly the same.].

Mog


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to detect if the user's device has a menu key?
Unread postPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2017 5:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 1:40 am
Posts: 68
Location: France
Very bad news, Mog! BASIC interactive commands generally have to detect a Back key event, the right-upper menu has not the option.
When both Menu and Back keys are removed, then we'll need to set our own items in that menu.

_________________
Alain


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to detect if the user's device has a menu key?
Unread postPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2017 7:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 2:14 am
Posts: 1147
Location: From Blighty
Much as I'd love a phone to be a display only. I've been dreaming about that for years and bought a Sony Ericsson P800 in 2003 to try and live that dream... [If it was good enough; the prototype for James Bond in Die Another Day... Well, it was only just about adequate for me :)].

I don't have an "air vent" or "hamburger" icon aka  "⋮ menu" I get a widget?

This code works from this widget?

Code:
REM Via on-screen widget...
DO
  PAUSE 1
UNTIL 0

ONBACKKEY:
POPUP "Back key pressed via on-screen widget."
BACK.RESUME


The on-screen widget just floats as a round icon until you open it. The screen shot below is just an example of how It looks after expansion...

Mog


Attachments:
Screenshot_2017-04-01-15-31-25.png
Screenshot_2017-04-01-15-31-25.png [ 31.49 KiB | Viewed 338 times ]
Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
suspicion-preferred